top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTyler Trettin

Throwing Rocks

Thoughts are like rocks. We just want to huck em.


Each week I fluctuate on what helps me the most. Sometimes it is more than a week but you get the point. There is no time limit on change and how we go about it. Recently the best thing that has been helping me change is one simple phrase, "It's just a thought." I had what I feel was a small revelation. I was thinking about my thoughts. Sounds like an oxymoron but it is true! The thought came to me that hundreds if not thousands of thoughts pass through my head each day. Then it hit me that if I don't remember all my thoughts throughout a day, why am I putting so much weight on the thoughts that bother me. They too are just thoughts. Just like the ones I don't remember having an hour earlier. I started comparing my thoughts to rocks. We literally can pick up rocks and just throw them away out of sight. We have the power to do that. With our thoughts, we have the power to do the same thing. We may not be able to get rid of them permanently but the point is, we have the power over our thoughts. I may be reaching with this metaphor, but I hope you can see what I am trying to say. We give to much power to thoughts sometimes and why?? They are JUST THOUGHTS!!


I want to make sure that I am not trying to negate the strong feelings of sadness that come with anxiety or depression because these thoughts can feel like much more than just thoughts. They feel like our reality. Like this is my life. That this is just how it is. Trust me I know. All I am trying to do, is take away some of the weight of the thoughts. If we can take some of the power away from these thoughts, we gain some personal power that we can turn into something positive. The process of change is just that, a process. Or a journey, with no destination. The moment we put an expectation on our thoughts is the moment we think we will never achieve that. Every day, is an opportunity to grow and get better.


I am not gonna lie. I feel really good right now. But what scares me most is going back into the abyss that is anxiety and lack of confidence. What keeps me going is the idea that life is a journey. Each day I get to strive to be my best self possible. I get to be honest with myself and look forward to a future that I am in control of.


Creating change is a journey. A journey we are all on together. Thank you for the read!


Tyler Trettin





18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page