top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTyler Trettin

Honesty

Be honest. But also lie... Let me explain.


There is a very fine line here. I'll start with honesty. I've been thinking about that this week. In the sense that, you have to be honest with yourself. We all know you should be honest with others, but being honest with ourselves is a whole nother story. When you are in the process of change, honesty is the best policy. I'll give you an example from earlier this week. I was walking to school and was just feeling down. Had the total poor me attitude and was just angry with myself that I wasn't Mr. Positive like I like to be. Then the thought came to me, "It's okay to feel this way right now. It doesn't mean that is who you are all the time, it's just right now you are feeling this way, and THAT'S OKAY!!" That moment of honesty actually helped me get out of my negative energy and get back to where I like to be. So long story short, honesty can go a long ways. It is a way of being nice to yourself and a reminder that creating change is a process, not immediate. Now for the LIES...


The lies may feel like lies but are actually truths. Stay with me. When we are feeling depressed or anxious or our self confidence is at an all time low, our brains are telling us so much information. It is mostly telling us how horrible we are in a multitude of different ways. And we believe it. Here is where the lying comes in. We MUST tell ourselves the opposite of what our brain is telling us. This is why it feels like a lie, because we believe so strongly all the negative things about ourselves. But if we "lie" or in other words remind ourselves of who we truly are over and over again, the brain will start to believe that. Trust me, it is going to feel so ridiculous because it sounds so preposterous that we could actually be completely happy and love who we are. But those are the things that are true! Not the negative stuff. I really hope you can see that we are all amazing people and we each have truly awesome things to offer the world. That is the truth. Be honest with yourself. LOVE, YOU!


Tyler Trettin


P.S. - Please listen to this episode of the Podcast, "School of Greatness". Him and Lindsey Stirling talk about this very topic.





49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page