top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTyler Trettin

Change is Strange

Some things in life are inevitable. Completely unavoidable. Change is one of those things.


The invention of writing. Socrates feared that it would create forgetfulness in learners because they will not use their memories. When the printing press was created people feared that books would make them stupid because they would have no way of knowing the words. The main point is, change elicits fear. Whether it is on a massive societal scale or a minute personal scale. Either way, their is no way of avoiding it.


I mean the very word "change" is in the title of my blog. I have so many thoughts on this topic so hopefully I can keep it short! The very idea of my blog is to help me and hopefully you change into the best version of ourselves. What makes it scary is not knowing what is on the other side of this change. That may sound ridiculous because we are changing for the better but the reality is, our brains get comfortable. We get comfortable where we are at. Even if we are in a state of struggle. I have been in a state of struggle for years. There have been times when I feel like I have escaped that struggle and felt so free. But I didn't know how to maintain it. My brain was almost uncomfortable in that state and wanted to go back to struggle because that's what it knew. And I let it! Very frustrating. It got to the point where I didn't want to embrace the process of changing myself because of the fear of ending up right where I started. When I realized that, I knew I had to make a difference in my thought process. I had to embrace change. I had to embrace the idea that I am changing for the better and it is inevitable. Fear immediately inserted itself. I recognized the fear as valid and just told myself that it is a part of the process and it is okay to be afraid and that it is even more important to not lose hope and have an unwavering belief that change is possible.


Sometimes change is immediate and sometimes it is a process. Wherever you are in life, if you want a change, you can do it! I am in the very process of change and each day I am seeing progress. I am getting used to the idea that the way of struggle isn't the only way of life. We are meant to thrive in life. To experience joy and happiness. To feel like the version of ourselves that we love most. If we are not experiencing those things, we need to embrace change. Embrace the process and be willing to do whatever it takes. I encourage you to do as Michael Jackson says when he says, " I'm starting with the man in the mirror, I'm asking him to change his ways. Hooh!" Start there. Start with telling yourself, you are willing to change. We are powerful people who can bring about powerful change! You got this! Love you all.


Tyler




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page